Y11 Battleplan: In My Classroom

Thought I’d blog a little about some ideas that I’ve been using with Year 11. None of these are original ideas; most are stolen from fabulous people who tweet and/ or blog but tweaked to suit the needs of my group.

2015/01/img_0882-0.jpg

I have a set 5 of 6 who are aiming for Expected Progress (3LP) grades from a couple of Cs to mostly Ds with a couple of Es at the bottom end. Clearly my target is to get as many of them Cs as possible. Fingers crossed. Things of note; there are a few characters who spend more time on our behaviour “isolation” unit than in my classroom and they are pretty much all allergic to homework.

A few months ago I started setting CorbettMaths 5-a-day Numeracy sheets which cover the lower Foundation grades. I give them as a weekly booklet so pupils can choose if they wanted to completed in bite size chunks or as one larger homework task. The first week I got a mixed bag but most pupils had completed what they knew how to do and left everything else blank. Cue some ranting & guidance on how to address problems rather than employ the ostrich method. Things started to improve. Rapidly. In fact below is a screenshot of a slide I showed them recently. Progress. Rapid progress.

2015/01/img_0881.png

To help pupils I wrote alongside each question what topic was covered to enable them to source help/ guidance if they needed it. I also showed the grade so that pupils knew what they needed to do for their individual target grade:

2015/01/img_0794.jpg

When I’d marked them I introduced the idea of “Learn One Thing Today” (LOTT) which was basically a target topic I wanted them to sort out before the following weeks was handed in. Crucial to the success of this was providing pupils with the time to respond. I structured this such that when the work was handed back I gave them 10 minutes with access to revision guides, textbooks, peers and me to look at where and why they were going wrong.

2015/01/img_0791.jpg

In the following lesson that week I produced a post-it for each pupil to assess whether they had met their LOTT target:

2015/01/img_0793.jpg

Pupils that hadn’t I gave some 1:1 time to, in most cases it was because they hadn’t put enough time into correcting their misconceptions and now that they know the post-it is coming they seem to be doing so.

We’ve now levelled up to the Foundation 5-a-day sheets which cover the higher Foundation grades from E-C. I’m expecting pupils to find these very challenging at first but hopefully we’ll see the same levels of progress as with the Numeracy sheet. To enable pupils to see this process I’ve used my window pens to draw up a table which will show whether each individual pupil has improved, stayed the same or achieved a lower Mark than the previous week (I don’t think I’m going to show actual marks just an up arrow for progress etc). I have shown the class average as a percentage in the table too. We’ve started at a pretty lowly 42% average so there plenty of room for improvement.

Massive hat tip to CorbettMaths for the fantastic resources and sharing them so freely.

Next week I’ll blog a little about a cohort wide battleplan from a KS4 coordinator perspective.

2 comments

  1. NWMaths · January 21, 2015

    Love this!

  2. mrscotney · August 23, 2015

    How did the results turn out for this group Hannah? Maybe a follow-up post is in order…..? ;o)

Leave a Reply

